Puntland and Jubaland Nominate Electoral Committee Members

Mogadishu ( PP News Desk) — The electoral impasse in Somalia seems to have been broken following the nomination of Puntland and Jubaland electoral committee members.

The two Federal Member States have dropped preconditions that temporarily delayed the election schedule in Somalia.

Jubaland President Ahmed Madobe (left) and Puntland President Said A. Deni agreed to nominate the federal member states’ 16 members in the national electoral commission.

Somalia’s International Partners have facilitated efforts that led to the end of the deadlock over members of the national electoral commission.

Selection of MPs and Senators will begin in designated districts in line with the September 2020 Agreement on the Somali electoral model.

There might be a delay in the Somali Presidential Elections but the end of the uncertainty over the election puts paid to the speculation that term extension was on the cards if the electoral impasse remained unresolved before 8 February 2021.

© Puntland Post, 2021